The Cross of Valour (CV) is Australia's highest bravery decoration and civil award. Since it's inception in the Australian Honours and Awards system in 1975, the Cross of Valour has only been awarded on five occasions. 

The Cross of Valour is awarded only for acts of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.
— Award Criteria - Australian Honours and Awards

Australian Cross of Valour RECIPIENTS 

Mr Darrell Tree CV - South Australia 1989

Mr Victor Boscoe CV - Queensland 1995

Mr Allan Sparkes CV, OAM, VA - New South Wales 1998

Senior Sergeant Timothy Britten CV - Western Australia 2003

Mr Richard Joyes CV - Tasmania 2003