During the presentation of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal to the Cross of Valour recipients in December 2012, the recipients agreed that we needed to form an Association to help promote Australian Bravery Decorations and attempt to remove some of the disparities that existed between the level one awards in the Australian Honours and Awards System. As such, The Cross of Valour Association of Australia was founded in October 2013. Its strictly limited membership comprises recipients of the Cross of Valour, as well as other members who have made significant contributions to the formation and aims of the Association. 

The current National Executive is

President - Mr Allan Sparkes CV,OAM,VA 

Vice President - Mr Darrell Tree CV 

Secretariat - Mr Clive Johnson OAM


I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.
— Nelson Mandela